Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Shift By RPM Or Time?
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:33 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
I'm going to use my Digital 7 to to operate the solenoid on the air shifter on this dragster and was wondering what others though about shifting on time or RPM? I've always used RPM in the past but for no particular reason.

Is there an advantage to either? :-k

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 2:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 7:07 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Florida
I've been using time for quite a while, can't say one way or another on advantage, but by using time you can actually play with ET and also use it to short shift on marginal tracks.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:35 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 3:20 pm
Posts: 1457
Location: Missouri
I've tried both and not sure one way is better. Most throttle stop racers shift on time so it shifts while on the stop.

My theory has always been that shifting on time with it set to shift after optimal (best ET) shift RPM would make it more consistent. If there is anything that makes it not run as well early in the run the mph and therefore rpm will be lower when the shift time happens making the shift help correct any inconsistency.

Rick


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 1:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 5:41 am
Posts: 269
Location: Newville PA
I shift mine by RPM. I was told by some old guy,when I built my dragster. Small block shift by rpm, Big block shift by time. I do not know what his logic was,but I bought a Dedenbear RPM switch. It works fine for me. Tryed a MSD rpm switch,it didn't work right all the time. Bob.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: