Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Drive Train, Suspension and Brakes

Post subject: rear disc conversion
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 5:28 pm 

am looking at fitting rear disc instead of the drums on my 9 inch,, i have a manual master cylinder 1.125 inch.. i think this is an improvement but have been told that i will not get enough brake line pressure to emergency stop the car,, is this true and would i be better off keeping the drums on the rear end,, i have 4 piston calipers in the front and single piston sliding calipers on the rear

Post subject: Re: rear disc conversion
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 6:19 pm 
Site Admin

So does it stop OK now with the disc brakes on the front and drums on the rear? If it does, then what would be so different about disk brakes on the rear? :-k You ARE running a dual master cylinder, right? :-k

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)

Post Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:23 pm 

We got the economy disc bake kit from Moser for their 12 bolts. They also have them for 9". It's around $300 complete except brake hoses. We got the manual brake master cylinder from a 70 vette. They had 4 wheel disc brakes. That was like $40 new from Advance Auto. Jake said it stops in almost half the time the rear drums did. The weight was about the same and the wheels stick out about a 1/8 to 1/4 inch more. cause of the thickness of the rotor hat.

6.7772 @ 101.51 1/8th 10.747 @ 122.24 1/4

Post Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:17 pm 

ken,, its never stopped in a confidence inspiring way and i have decided at last to get it sorted,, got the disc on the axle now,, have ordered a brake pressure gauge to check the pressures when its completed,, but am concerned that the line pressure may be a problem

Post Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:13 pm 
Site Admin

zephyrc wrote: