Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Drive Train, Suspension and Brakes




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Hughes Converter ID/Info
 Post Posted: Sat May 29, 2010 9:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:36 pm
Posts: 718
Location: Blanco, Texas
I have this converter and I am wondering if it will work with my new combo.

Does anyone know what these numbers mean?

Thanks for any info,

_________________
Donee


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun May 30, 2010 5:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
What Numbers #-o #-o

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun May 30, 2010 8:32 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
OOPS, looks like another old fart brain fart, hey! \:D/

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun May 30, 2010 9:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:36 pm
Posts: 718
Location: Blanco, Texas
Dang, I can't believe I did that and I reread it twice to make sure there were no mistakes!!!

Ok, here are the numbers on the Hughes: Gm-93 STD / 162770....(black marker)
BS9B1........................... (stamped)

I also have this TCI: R02318-SR RO3162
1SR RO7197-5F
7409C 50PS 100P

I have been running the TCI in my Camaro 2800# w/driver, 496 9.50 @ 140, 1.35 60' 4.56 gear 1.76 low PG, 14/32 tire, stall @ leave 5600,shift 7200 fall back 5900.

New Combo:
555 BBC (As a 565 it made 957 hp @ 7200 and 775 tq @ 5600) I replaced the block and pistons everything else is virtually the same.

Thanks for the help

_________________
Donee


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 5:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:36 pm
Posts: 718
Location: Blanco, Texas
More info:

The guy I got the Hughes from said it stalled at around 5800 behind a BBC in a 3400# Nova that ran 10.30's with a 4.10 gear and 10 X 28 tire.

I called Hughes, the guy I talked to said it would be to tight for my combo and was "15 year old technology". The converter he would spec, would be a GM-95 that would stall at 6100 rpm.

For the price of $1095.00, I can step up to the right converter! I guess Ken's deal wasn't too shabby!

Looks like my Camaro won't be reaching it's maximum potential for a while!

Any suggestions on which one to run? I'm leaning toward the Hughes.

Thanks

_________________
Donee


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 8:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
Slowpoke wrote:
More info:

Any suggestions on which one to run? I'm leaning toward the Hughes.

Thanks


Remember, Roniboi has a deal with BTE. So is there a problem with their converters? I've got 4 of'em and running 2 of'em with no complaints? Scott also runs'em and I don't hear him bitching? Talk to Brian Robinson at BTE. Find out what BTE part number Roniboi needs to order and then get him to give you a price before you spend any money. Talk is cheap!

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 7:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:36 pm
Posts: 718
Location: Blanco, Texas
I think I'm going to run the hughes and a least get some info, should help if I have to get a new convertor to have some performance numbers.

Thanks

_________________
Donee


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 8:14 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
I'd still talk to Brian at BTE. You could probably have them rework the one you have cheaper than buying new. The last 3 I sent them cost was in the $300/$400 range.

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 6:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:36 pm
Posts: 718
Location: Blanco, Texas
I will check with them before I spend any money, Thanks!

_________________
Donee


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Drive Train, Suspension and Brakes


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron