Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Drive Train, Suspension and Brakes




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Pro Brake
 Post Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:29 pm
Posts: 471
Location: Longview, Tx
What all is involved going from a sportsman brake to a pro brake in a glide? Just valve body and solinoid, right?

How much real world RT difference have some of you seen making this swap?

Gotta get off the line on this .400 Pro Tree in these index classes!

_________________
ImageImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Brake
 Post Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
Your going to have to pull the trans to make another fluid dump for the reverse.
It's not to involved but it will have to come apart and it is quicker how much not real sure......

The hole need to be in the trans case..

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Brake
 Post Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 9:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 7:07 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Florida
A pro brake can be built to work without the case mods used on a double dump as long as the reverse feed hole in the case is opened up larger than stock, not quite as fast but real close. Not sure who makes them now, been building my own for a long time.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Brake
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:29 pm
Posts: 471
Location: Longview, Tx
Well, if that's the case it will just have to wait till its next freshen up. I come damn near to getting rid of this car everytime I have to jerk the motor or tranny out of it [-( . I can promise you any future car I have will be a tube frame with a removable tunnel, but that's a whole 'nother issue. :-({|=

_________________
ImageImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Brake
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 8:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:41 pm
Posts: 407
Location: Bronson,MI
Just wondering here, why would you switch from the normal brake to a pro brake ?

_________________
David Lanning
IHRA NHRA 387B

http://www.nyesautomotive.net
http://www.diamondracecars.com
Fleenor Racing Glides
"get one before one gets you"


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Brake
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
Hammertime wrote:
Just wondering here, why would you switch from the normal brake to a pro brake ?




Dave I think he's looking for some more car RT so it can get a better light...I would just try a smaller tire and crank up the starting line RPM but maybe he has tried that already...

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Brake
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:41 pm
Posts: 407
Location: Bronson,MI
thanks for the reply

I have switched from a standard coan brake to a pro brake 3 different times now, and recently just went back to a std brake again. Delay never changes in mine, thats why I asked

_________________
David Lanning
IHRA NHRA 387B

http://www.nyesautomotive.net
http://www.diamondracecars.com
Fleenor Racing Glides
"get one before one gets you"


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Brake
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:59 am
Posts: 438
Location: Auburndale, Florida
Try a hipster brake. They're not a double passage set up. Read the instructions on their site..


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Brake
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
Pro brake is a little quicker on mine but I'm not exactly sure how much.

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pro Brake
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 8:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:44 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: Clawson, Mi.
Tanner,

I know you don't want to pull the tranny again, mine stinks as well, but when I went to the bullet proof stuff(Dedenbear/Reid) trans case with roller tail housing, everything swapped over and I use a ATI solenoid with an ATI brake, and the Reid housing has an adjustable trans brake relase knob, so you can adjust it. Mine is on full GO, and I tend to redlight a little :- but if you want to spend the money, or already have a Reid case, look into this from ATI, I have had flawless fun so far with my trans stuff, Knock on wood =; Just a thought, not intending to make you spend money on Reid/Dedenbear stuff, it just works for me and I had 3 perfect lights last year, that's 3 (.000's) \:D/ \:D/ but then some reds too :-& live and die by the trans right? Good luck and let us know when you do.

John



Tanner wrote:
Well, if that's the case it will just have to wait till its next freshen up. I come damn near to getting rid of this car everytime I have to jerk the motor or tranny out of it [-( . I can promise you any future car I have will be a tube frame with a removable tunnel, but that's a whole 'nother issue. :-({|=

_________________
Image
Thanks To;
DART
Motor City Muscle
Induction-Solutions
Fuelab Fuel System
D & S Engines
My Wife & Family




R.i.p. Doug Cunningham, gone, not forgotten.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Drive Train, Suspension and Brakes


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron