Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Drive Train, Suspension and Brakes

Post subject: newbie with 4 link ??
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:34 pm 

All right guys, please give me any advise you can spare, I am a novice with 4 link adjustment.  I bought car several years ago, put 605 engine from top dragster went 7.90’s (5.0’s) always went straight and was overall happy.  Was afraid to tweak 4 link for fear of messing up setup.  All I changed was to make rear tire weight pretty equal and neutralize anti-roll.
This year built 706 that makes 1270 HP, 1035 ft/#’s.  This added about 100#’s to car, now runs the same as above.  
Car used to squat a little and tote the front tires to the tree.  See this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDNccGXgMYk.
Now it does neither one. See this video http://www.spradlinmotorsports.com/photos.htm. (click blank box) Also added quikdata logger and you can see spin in below graph from first run on video.  Several runs and all graphs and ET’s the same.  First and second run I forgot to neutralize anti-roll so caused it to drive left out past the tree, fixed this for 3rd pass.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/spradlinmo ... 2751576973

Also is there a free program out there for IC’s.  I’m using the attached file I found for 4 wheelers, I think it works OK.  Note that the CG height is estimated at this point because front struts are at Lamb getting rebuilt/revalved.

The below specs are how it was set up in video.  Right know struts are coming back from Lamb because adjusters were stuck, they revalved for current setup ($$!).  Also new springs all around coming.  275# upfront, 110# out back.

Car Specs.
WB:111”
Weight: 2559#
LF: 762#       RF: 586#
LR: 557#       RR: 654#
Front: 53%
IC: 63” out, 5.25” up
Bottom bar: 2* down
Top bar: 13* down
Front separation: 6.875”
Rear separation: 10.5”
Pinion <: 2.5*
Front springs: 235#
Rear Springs: 110#
Rear shock setting: 5 clicks off tight (12)
Wheelie bar height: 6.25”/6.5”