Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Distributor
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 9:35 pm
Posts: 541
Location: savannah mo.
Hey guys I am putting a MSD crank trigger on my 55 and dont want to buy a MSD dist. I know you can make one but can i just leave the one that is in there and not plug it up. Thanks KennyMac #-o

_________________
DRAG-ON-LADY
1955 Chevy Chop Top 3 TIME S/P POINTS CHAMPTION
ET 6.49 60FT 1.37. 107.54 mph


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Distributor
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 6:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 7:07 pm
Posts: 1436
Location: Florida
Yes, you will have to make sure the rotor phase is correct.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Distributor
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 7:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5863
Location: N.J.
Also you need to lock the advance if it has one :-

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Distributor
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 9:35 pm
Posts: 541
Location: savannah mo.
Thanks guys it is a MSD pro-billet distributor.

_________________
DRAG-ON-LADY
1955 Chevy Chop Top 3 TIME S/P POINTS CHAMPTION
ET 6.49 60FT 1.37. 107.54 mph


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Distributor
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5863
Location: N.J.
I think that dist has a lock built in it :-k Kenny

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Distributor
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11810
Location: Coming At Ya!
Yeah, you take it apart and you can turn the top piece on the shaft 180* and it's locked. Drill a 3/16 hole between #1 and the coil wire terminal and use that to "phase" the distributor. Oh, and some ppl use a timing light to do this but I just usually set the timing mark on however much advance I have in the crank trigger then phase the distributor by looking in that aformentioned hole to make sure it's pointed at #1

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Distributor
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 4:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5863
Location: N.J.
You can drill the hole in the cap for phase on any wire as long asou use that wire to phase it.. On my Vega
it was hard to see #1 so I did it on #6 instead =; .......

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Distributor
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 6:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 9:35 pm
Posts: 541
Location: savannah mo.
Thanks for every bodys help \:D/

_________________
DRAG-ON-LADY
1955 Chevy Chop Top 3 TIME S/P POINTS CHAMPTION
ET 6.49 60FT 1.37. 107.54 mph


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: