Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Starter Circuit
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:18 am
Posts: 115
Location: Sharon Hill PA (Phila area)
Should I use a relay on the starter solenoid circuit, or can the starter button handle the draw?
Also what gauge wire should I use?
Thanks guys

_________________
Our Camaro won't get done till I'm old and grey!!!
Oh, I already am grey


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Starter Circuit
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
Hey Mike, sorry to take so long on a reply but I'm retired and have no time! O:)

Ok, no more BS.

I've built two cars from scratch and bought 3 others built by someone else and all used the regular push button starter button deal. I know that some use relays but I've never liked those as I figure that's just something else to go wrong on race day that I don't want to have to troubleshoot at the track.

So long story short is I use the regular high current push button start buttons on everything I've built and or bought (5 cars) with zero problems.

As far as wire size goes, I used 14ga wire on all the ones I built from scratch and the cars that I bought also had 14 ga wire on them also.

But whatever you use, make sure you put a fuse in that circuit! And always carry some spares in the car! ;-)

You're mileage may vary!

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Starter Circuit
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 10:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 2749
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
I don't have a relay on mine either and that's how both of my cars were set up. As long as it's a good switch and heavy enough wire I don't think you need a relay. I use a mini starter with an integral solenoid and would assume you have something similar. The only application I have ever seen where a relay was needed was on a stock GM application where the wiring and switch was getting old enough that it needed the extra help.

_________________
Chuck Woloch

Chuck's Automotive
Full line Computech dealer
chucksautomotive@yahoo.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Starter Circuit
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:18 am
Posts: 115
Location: Sharon Hill PA (Phila area)
That makes things simpler... Was planning on using #12 gauge, so can't go wrong there

_________________
Our Camaro won't get done till I'm old and grey!!!
Oh, I already am grey


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron