Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:47 am
Posts: 885
Location: Australia
greetings all

just looking for some info on Weather Stations

whats good & bad ect

who has any decent deals on them

i have a Performaire at the moment but i want one that has throttle stop predictions in it ect

i think i would rather stick with a hand held unit as the track is some distance from the pit area & i think the trailer mounted units will not be as accurate as a hand held in that situation

i think the Performaire Eclipse is the way to go but interested in others thoughts

regards
rod

_________________
The older I get the better I was


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Tue May 04, 2010 8:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 2749
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
rodrocket wrote:
i think i would rather stick with a hand held unit as the track is some distance from the pit area & i think the trailer mounted units will not be as accurate as a hand held in that situation


I don't know what you consider "some distance" but usually readings away from the staging lanes where you are dealing with the heat and exhaust of the cars are more reliable and consistent.

I am a Computech dealer and have been using a Race Air Pro and I am very pleased with it. I used a Tag for several years and this one is a lot better. It has all the calculation programs built into it and is compatible with the Crew Chief Pro 5.0 software. The Race Air is basically the same hardware without the calculation programs. Here's a link to it.
http://computechracing.com/Product_Guid ... table.html

One of the nice things about the Computech weather stations is they can be upgraded. If you have a race air it can be upgraded to a race air pro and both can be upgraded to the trailer based system. So if you think you might eventually want to go to the trailer based but don't want to spend that much right now you can buy a handheld and upgrade later. Here's a link to the trailer based systems.
http://computechracing.com/Product_Guid ... based.html

If you're interested PM me for a price.

_________________
Chuck Woloch

Chuck's Automotive
Full line Computech dealer
chucksautomotive@yahoo.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Tue May 04, 2010 8:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:47 am
Posts: 885
Location: Australia
thanks for that Chuck

i will have a read through that in the morning & get back to you

regards
rod

_________________
The older I get the better I was


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Tue May 04, 2010 9:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 2749
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
I have sold a couple of the Race Air weather stations to members on here so if they read this maybe they'll chime in and let us know how they like it.

_________________
Chuck Woloch

Chuck's Automotive
Full line Computech dealer
chucksautomotive@yahoo.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Tue May 04, 2010 8:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 9:35 pm
Posts: 541
Location: savannah mo.
Computech Is the only way to go. I have used some outher brands that my friends hade and found this with chuck. It is so easy even a dum ass like me can use it. \:D/ \:D/ \:D/



KRAZYKEN

_________________
DRAG-ON-LADY
1955 Chevy Chop Top 3 TIME S/P POINTS CHAMPTION
ET 6.49 60FT 1.37. 107.54 mph


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Wed May 05, 2010 6:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:47 am
Posts: 885
Location: Australia
i heard a story today that the majority of the weather stations use softwere that was developed by TAG

has anybody else heard this ?

regards
rod

_________________
The older I get the better I was


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Wed May 05, 2010 7:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 2749
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
rodrocket wrote:
i heard a story today that the majority of the weather stations use softwere that was developed by TAG

has anybody else heard this ?

regards
rod


I don't believe that. I used a Tag for several years and it has a saved database that you can build from good passes on different race days and it calculates from corrected density altitude. The race air pro will give you the corrected DA that you can use for ET prediction but the preferred method is to use a number called the correction factor. With the race air you don't save a database as they feel predicting off of your last good pass on the day you're racing will yield a more accurate prediction. Also, the race air pro has an option for fuel type where the Tag doesn't. It seems to me that would be a considerable difference in the software.

_________________
Chuck Woloch

Chuck's Automotive
Full line Computech dealer
chucksautomotive@yahoo.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 7:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:47 am
Posts: 885
Location: Australia
Chuck

is there anything that the Computech does that the Performaire carnt do

regards
rod

_________________
The older I get the better I was


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Mon May 10, 2010 9:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 2749
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
The Race Air Pro has about 30 programs built into it including programs for throttle stop, jetting, run completer, fuel injection & chassis settings. It can be used for drag racing, circle track, road racing and karting. I'm not sure what the Performaire has but I think it only has a dozen or so programs with it. The Performaire predicts off of a stored database of runs which is how the Tag predicts. Computech feels like there are too many variables on a given race day so they feel like predicting off of your last good pass on a race day is more accurate. This will take into account things like track prep. After using both the Tag and the RaceAir Pro I would agree. The RaceAir Pro will store a 3 run database to predict from corrected density altitude but I have never used that option on mine (I might give it a try just for the sake of comparison). I predict off a correction factor that the RaceAir Pro calculates from temperature, humidity and pressure. The RaceAir Pro is compatible with the Crew Chief Pro 5.0 software if you use that or Computech offers their own logbook program. There is a download kit available for the RaceAir Pro that will allow you to plug the RaceAir Pro into a computer and it will automatically sample and store weather data. I don't have that right now but I will probably order one soon.

_________________
Chuck Woloch

Chuck's Automotive
Full line Computech dealer
chucksautomotive@yahoo.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Fri May 14, 2010 9:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:47 am
Posts: 885
Location: Australia
thanks Chuck

but i went with the Peformaire Eclipse weather station with the wind sensor ect.

i bought it here. Don is a great guy to deal with

http://www.crew-chief.com/index.html


has anybody used the Crew Cheif Pro software

regards
rod

_________________
The older I get the better I was


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Fri May 14, 2010 2:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
rodrocket wrote:

has anybody used the Crew Cheif Pro software

regards
rod


Yup, I sure do. I've been using it now for about 3 years. Does it work? Yes. Could it be better? Yes. What's my main complaint? It seems to have been written by someone that operates in DOS mode most of the time as some of the functions work better from key strokes than by mouse clicks. Me, I'm a lazy GUI mouse person. Why use key strokes when single finger mouse clicks can do the same things. I guess it has something to do with the "learning curve" too.

Would I buy this software? Hard to say. Would depend on how much it costs now but you have to remember also that 1s and 0s can be free at times! O:) And I'm CHEAP! =;

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Sat May 15, 2010 1:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:47 am
Posts: 885
Location: Australia
thanks for that Ken

i have bought the program along with a weather station & a few other bits from them

Don & Joyce have been awsome to deal with & nothing is to much trouble for them

there is some video's on there web site of how the new version of Crew Cheif Pro works, it may be worth checking it out to see what you think

what version of there softwear do you use

thanks again
regards
rod

_________________
The older I get the better I was


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Sat May 15, 2010 7:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
Issue I have with it is once you buy it your stuck with it..You can't sell it cause it won't work or can you up date it.....

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Sat May 15, 2010 8:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:47 am
Posts: 885
Location: Australia
hi Barry

yes there is updates for it

have a look on there web site or just give him a call

he is great to talk to

he told me to call him with any questions i have & when i told him i was in Australia he said "dont let that stop you"

there customer service is 100%

regards
rod

_________________
The older I get the better I was


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weather Station
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:29 pm
Posts: 471
Location: Longview, Tx
Ken, what weather station are you using with the crew chief pro?

_________________
ImageImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron