Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Wire gague
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:18 am
Posts: 115
Location: Sharon Hill PA (Phila area)
Would #4 AWG be sufficient to run from the battery to the starter? Its copper service entrance cable, and I have about 30' of the stuff. Or should I bite the bullet and use #1 AWG?

Thanks
Mike

_________________
Our Camaro won't get done till I'm old and grey!!!
Oh, I already am grey


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wire gague
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 10:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
Mike, I would not use that as the strands are heavy..Go to a welding supply house and get some welding cable...I used # 2 bends real easy and 25' roll is about 30 bucks if I remember correctly....Oh and it has about 800 strands...

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wire gague
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:18 am
Posts: 115
Location: Sharon Hill PA (Phila area)
Barry, never thought of that... There is a welding supply about a mile from me. Happy New Year!!!!

_________________
Our Camaro won't get done till I'm old and grey!!!
Oh, I already am grey


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wire gague
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:41 pm
Posts: 407
Location: Bronson,MI
get the welding cable to starter use the 4 gauge for a ground to the motor area from the battery :)

_________________
David Lanning
IHRA NHRA 387B

http://www.nyesautomotive.net
http://www.diamondracecars.com
Fleenor Racing Glides
"get one before one gets you"


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wire gague
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:41 pm
Posts: 38
Beretta wrote:
Mike, I would not use that as the strands are heavy..Go to a welding supply house and get some welding cable...I used # 2 bends real easy and 25' roll is about 30 bucks if I remember correctly....Oh and it has about 800 strands...


X2!!! House wiring, machine wire, etc belong in their perspective areas....not in race cars. Welding cable is definitely cable of choice....and remember, the grounds are just as important so the quality of cable you use is just as important. Save your service cable for your next panel upgrade or remodel =;

_________________
Jeff Brandenburg
Dykes & Strippers Custom Wiring


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wire gague
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:41 pm
Posts: 407
Location: Bronson,MI
OhioMafiaWireGuy wrote:
Beretta wrote:
Mike, I would not use that as the strands are heavy..Go to a welding supply house and get some welding cable...I used # 2 bends real easy and 25' roll is about 30 bucks if I remember correctly....Oh and it has about 800 strands...


X2!!! House wiring, machine wire, etc belong in their perspective areas....not in race cars. Welding cable is definitely cable of choice....and remember, the grounds are just as important so the quality of cable you use is just as important. Save your service cable for your next panel upgrade or remodel =;



opps I didnt catch the service cable ... no doubt dont use it for ground either

_________________
David Lanning
IHRA NHRA 387B

http://www.nyesautomotive.net
http://www.diamondracecars.com
Fleenor Racing Glides
"get one before one gets you"


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wire gague
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 7:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:44 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: Clawson, Mi.
Hey guys,

I have used 2ga in my chassis and have never had an issue, and I run it from the batt. to the kill switch and run one single wire up to my starter solenoid on the firewall, then on the other big post from the solenoid I run 2ga again down to my starter(1 wire deal, mini, CSR).

Barry, with your info you typed in here, is your (#2) the same as 2gauge? that I wrote down??? I wanna say it is :-k :-k

Is 2ga suffeciant? I am about to rewire this same area very soon, like within the next 3-4 weeks and if I need something different, now would be the time to change and get new pricing and availability. I have Terminal Supply right in my back yard and if I call ahead, they can have exactly what I need. Thanks and have a great season this year. =;

John

_________________
Image
Thanks To;
DART
Motor City Muscle
Induction-Solutions
Fuelab Fuel System
D & S Engines
My Wife & Family




R.i.p. Doug Cunningham, gone, not forgotten.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wire gague
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 8:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
#2 same as 2 gauge....I would get rid of that sol on the firewall...

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron