Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: wire guy ????
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
All this has been checked with a avr test equipment... My alt putout 48 amps...Now with everything on total amp draw is 43 amps with the trans brake applied... with out the TB applied there is a 33 amp draw...Now I put a charger on the battery after every round so with the fans running draw from the battery is minimal.....Well after the 2nd round the battery was almost dead and won't start the car..............The battery is only 2yrs old red top optima..i have used these battery before and never had any problems.....Im going to get it checked...What do you think???

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wire guy ????
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 2749
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
I would charge and load test the battery. Remove the surface charge by doing a short load test and let it stand for at least 20 minutes. I have seen batteries fail all of a sudden but it sounds like for the load you have you might not have enough alternator.

_________________
Chuck Woloch

Chuck's Automotive
Full line Computech dealer
chucksautomotive@yahoo.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wire guy ????
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
So you think a amp draw of 33 amps and an alternator putting out 48 amps won't cut it????

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wire guy ????
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:41 pm
Posts: 38
My first thought is battery...I have had an Autozone Gold last for 5 seasons with no alternator...replaced it and the new one lasted 1 season. We tried Optima's a long time ago and never had any luck with them, BUT it was a long time ago. I just switch to Powermaster 16v Lightweight with no alternator in my dragster...still using an Autozone Gold with an alternator in my door car. My second thought, which doesn't explain what you are seeing, is the alternator is a little small. Not sure of the ignition system you are using, but what is the amp draw at RPM? Even if your total amp draw is equal to your alternator out put, you still are charging between rounds so...still leads me to believe a battery is dying!


With all that said...check all wiring...for loose connections, chafed areas, corrosion, and Grounds grounds grounds.

_________________
Jeff Brandenburg
Dykes & Strippers Custom Wiring


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wire guy ????
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 2749
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
Beretta wrote:
So you think a amp draw of 33 amps and an alternator putting out 48 amps won't cut it????


The math on that tells me you're only charging the battery 15 amps while you're driving around the pits and making a pass. The starter draws at least a couple of hundred for a few seconds each time you start it and it's not like you're driving it on long enough trips to charge it back up at a low rate. If you pull through the staging lanes like most tracks you probably start it at least 3 times while pulling through the lanes and being on gas you probably run the fan & pump some with the motor off. Depending on how you wired that relay for the alternator it probably draws a couple of amps any time the battery is on. The data logger does too.

_________________
Chuck Woloch

Chuck's Automotive
Full line Computech dealer
chucksautomotive@yahoo.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wire guy ????
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 11:41 pm
Posts: 768
Location: Morrison, Co
I think you need more alternator. I also agree with the charge and load test on the battery. I've run Optima's for years and have never had any issues with them, although there are other really good batteries out there as well. I'm actually looking into the Odessey (sp?) and Braille batteries right now, just to shed some weight and have faster recharge times. My last car I had a 90 amp alternator, but I still had to recharge occasionally because of short run times and lots of starts and stops. Too much of that will kill any battery eventually.


Mark

_________________
Mark Goulette
Owner/driver, Livin' the Dream Racing Dragster
Speed Kills, But It's Better Than Going Slow!!!
http://www.livinthedreamracing.com


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wire guy ????
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:41 pm
Posts: 407
Location: Bronson,MI
2 things, I used to run the smaller alt 50 amp shogun and it keeps up while running but needs charged between rounds always. Switch to a 100amp eastcoast and love it. 2nd thing toss the Optima in the trash.. worst battery I've ever used. I run Napa Orbitals only now great battery

_________________
David Lanning
IHRA NHRA 387B

http://www.nyesautomotive.net
http://www.diamondracecars.com
Fleenor Racing Glides
"get one before one gets you"


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wire guy ????
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 10:27 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
I got an 80 amp alternator on the camaro and only one regular group 24 battery and NEVER have problems with not starting. I'm with with the others on the battery deal. You ran this same setup last season without any of these problems, didn't ya?

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wire guy ????
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:44 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: Clawson, Mi.
I had 3 Optima's go bad on me, and one cost me a 1st round showing at Maple Grove in 2004 and I was just crushed =P~ I just charged it in the pits for about 45 minutes, started the car, drove to the lanes and it sat for another 30 minutes, and then click, click!!!!! so I tossed all three of them back to Murray's and they said, yep there all bad, and that they had been having a problem with them for a while, so I got another battery from 1000 cca Murray's , and run an 80 amp 1 wire internal reg. alt and it works perfectly, and my volt gauge always shows it is charging when I rev the engine a little bit, but I also put a fast charge on it between rounds too when cooling it down and never had a problem since. I would defenitly check all your wires Barry for rub thru's and loose connections, just check every wire end, and re-clean all the grounds you have, and I also would say yes to a larger output alt., never hurts to have the extra capacity and that MSD draws a lot for sure and seems to always want 14+volts to really kick it into hi gear, jmo though. Good luck with it...

_________________
Image
Thanks To;
DART
Motor City Muscle
Induction-Solutions
Fuelab Fuel System
D & S Engines
My Wife & Family




R.i.p. Doug Cunningham, gone, not forgotten.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: wire guy ????
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 9:35 pm
Posts: 541
Location: savannah mo.
Barry when i worked for advance auto parts we had a lot of problems with the red top. I had to warranty a lot of them.. I now use the napa gold with out any problems......... Kenny

_________________
DRAG-ON-LADY
1955 Chevy Chop Top 3 TIME S/P POINTS CHAMPTION
ET 6.49 60FT 1.37. 107.54 mph


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron