Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Spark Plugs?
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11810
Location: Coming At Ya!
Just pulled the plugs out of my engine and man, them things are "toast"?  I've run Accel plugs for years and never seen them look like these Autolite AR3932s?  The whole corner is burnt off of'em and the gap looks like it's about .060?  Started out at like .020 if memory serves.  Never seen a plug do this?  I guess this MSD Digital 7 is acting like a plasma cutter, hey!!  I'll post a pic if I can get one to come out thru a magnifying glass. O:)

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:47 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11810
Location: Coming At Ya!
NO PICS!  O:)  Can't get a close enough shot to be able to see it.

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5863
Location: N.J.
Mail it to me I can get it done....I have a $1200 camera ;-)

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 2749
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
check to see if the camera has a macro setting. that will let you get it in focus close up.

_________________
Chuck Woloch

Chuck's Automotive
Full line Computech dealer
chucksautomotive@yahoo.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:33 am
Posts: 1293
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Just stand back 3 or 4 feet. Then crop the picture.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 7:07 pm
Posts: 1436
Location: Florida
Keep your plug gaps on the small side, .025 to .030. I've had no issue with the Digital 7 except when I had an HEI ditributor, melted the center conductor. O:)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:16 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11810
Location: Coming At Ya!
Yeah Mark, I just checked my log and they were originally set at .020, which is what MSD recommends.  I guess I need to look at'em a little more often, hey!  

Anywho, they look like someone took a file and cut a 45* angle on the center electrode where you would normally set the gap.  I mean burnt right off!

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 9:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 2922
Location: NJ
that is common for a standard plug, combustion chamber temp may have gone up a little.

we had that problem with the ignition on the fict engine. plugs would only last 15-20 hours.

the fix was a double platinum spark plug. and as soon as the platinum was gone it would burn a hole right through the j gap. the platinum plugs had to be changed at 70 hours.

_________________
ecbrc high point boat overall 2008
ecbrc class champs 2008
chatanooga us champions, oct 14th, 2007.
ecbrc super stock 315 4bbl 2007 champs. high point boat overall 2007.
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:41 pm
Posts: 407
Location: Bronson,MI
Hey Ken,
Have ran them same plugs several times but only for the nitrous. with issues. A autolite 3910-3911 would be better suited if no spray, also gap mine at 30.

_________________
David Lanning
IHRA NHRA 387B

http://www.nyesautomotive.net
http://www.diamondracecars.com
Fleenor Racing Glides
"get one before one gets you"


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:49 pm 
 
I run the champion c59yc plugs on alky and set the gap at 30 and never had a problem except on this last engine and it closed 5 out of the 8 up had to go and index all of them
I usually always index them but got a little overjoyed and wanted to fire it up that didn't last long.   :-  =;


Top 
  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 8:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:40 pm
Posts: 373
Location: coming at ya
I've also noticed the digital7 being tuff on plugs NGK's here.

_________________
Mark
2009 Carolina Dragway Box Class Champ


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spark Plugs?
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:12 pm
Posts: 1218
Location: Adelaide Australia
You have to consider all the gases. You have to consider CO as part of the story of combustion. More CO may mean more fuel was burnt without sufficient Oxygen to go around. A more complete burn of a rich mixture will result in more CO. That's why you have to see the other gasses as well.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spark Plugs?
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:12 pm
Posts: 1218
Location: Adelaide Australia
It seems that you only have a CO meter. You can still do good tuning with that and plug reading and seat of pants testing. However there is one catch, CO meters will reverse scale when NOx is present. Just dont let that catch you out. What they do is all of a sudden make a relative high speed meter movement to full lean. I say relative because CO meters are slow. Knowing this you can use them for a NOx sensor of sorts. Your mixture is rich, probably too rich for best power in a near stocker. You could probably clean up the cruise and fiddle with the high load enrichment device of your carby and still get good power. It would probably actually make better power that way than now because the engine wont be full of junk.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: