Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: TWO Step.
 Post Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 7:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 9:24 pm
Posts: 5071
Location: Elizabethtown, KY
When the 2 step is engaged and the motor is stumbleing does it put wear on the valve springs or cause damage to the motor?

_________________
Steve

6.7772 @ 101.51 1/8th 10.747 @ 122.24 1/4

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 7:37 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
My engine guy says they are hard on rotating assemblies and I didn't use one for a long time because of that.  The new Digital 7 box I got now isn't suppose to be as hard on'em according to what I've read and I do use it now.

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: KRAZYKEN
 Post Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 12:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 9:35 pm
Posts: 541
Location: savannah mo.
I have ran a 3 step on my 55 for years and never had a problem.

_________________
DRAG-ON-LADY
1955 Chevy Chop Top 3 TIME S/P POINTS CHAMPTION
ET 6.49 60FT 1.37. 107.54 mph


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 1:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 2749
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
I've run a 2 step for as long as I can remember without any problems.  My routine is to stage up and when the first bulb lights I put it on the floor and release the button for the delay box. When I'm crossing over and there is a slow car in the other lane that will leave it on the rev limiter for a few seconds.

_________________
Chuck Woloch

Chuck's Automotive
Full line Computech dealer
chucksautomotive@yahoo.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 11:59 am 
 
I use to run a three step well i still do but it never works because i run the launch control on my car now but never had a problem with it .
It seems like it would kinda take some toll when you are setting there and it's banging away .

I know my car is way more consistent with the launch control plus you never heat up the convertor just sits at idle .


Top 
  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed May 28, 2008 9:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:08 am
Posts: 400
anybody know how I can test a 2 step, basically the lower rpm limit wasn't kicking in, the upper rpm limit was fine, tested all other circuits which were fine so I figure the 2 step it dead. If I put 12v across it, how and what would I measure at the chip terminals ? Is it resistance ?

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed May 28, 2008 10:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 7:07 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Florida
PSweeney wrote:
anybody know how I can test a 2 step, basically the lower rpm limit wasn't kicking in, the upper rpm limit was fine, tested all other circuits which were fine so I figure the 2 step it dead. If I put 12v across it, how and what would I measure at the chip terminals ? Is it resistance ?

A 2-step is nothing more than a relay. It should have NO resistance across the low chip terminals when energized, NO resistance across the hi chip terminals when it is not energized. I used to make mine with potentiometers to adjust the low side where I wanted.
I used to have a chart of resistance in 1000 RPM steps, and it was not a linear change. I would have to do some digging, I have had digital boxes for about 5 years now. If you measure some known good ones you can get an idea. You can even make your own.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed May 28, 2008 3:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:11 pm
Posts: 2749
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
just put a 3k chip in it, fire it up and wow down on the loud pedal, if it goes above 3,000 rpm it's not working. If you think the chip's bad I think there is a resistance test you can do and I'm pretty sure someone here has the values.

_________________
Chuck Woloch

Chuck's Automotive
Full line Computech dealer
chucksautomotive@yahoo.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed May 28, 2008 3:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:33 am
Posts: 1293
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Here's what a digital 7 sounds like at 4800 and autostart.
The pedal is on the floor the whole time.

http://bumracing.com/video/mmp10-29-05-3.wmv


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu May 29, 2008 3:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:08 am
Posts: 400
one moduel works the other doesn't, I put a 3K chip in the RPM limit slot and it was fine, but in the other module it does nothing....time to replace it I think.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 4:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 3:39 am
Posts: 56
Location: the great northwest
Link to chart of resistance for MSD chips posted previously on MSV.

http://motorsportsvillage.com/forum/vie ... resistance

Greg


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron