Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Data Loggers?
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:07 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
I'm looking into buying one of these and at this point it's narrowed down to either an Innovate or Computech.  Slowpoke has an Innovate and his only issue has been that it's not "user friendly", ie, he had to send it back to them once because he couldn't get some of the addon stuff to work.  He hasn't had a problem with it since and says he would buy one again even with the issues he has had.  

I know Barry, Sam and Chuck have bought the Computech logger but they now offer a cheaper model that is modular, like the Innovate but much more expensive and I don't know whether I want to buy one that none of us has tried before.  Other than sample rate there isn't much of an advantage with the Computech modular logger.  

I think Scott has an Innovate logger so maybe he will chime in and give an opinion as well.  

So is there anyone else out there with experience on one of these with an opinion one way or the other?

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
I really like mine and with the help I got from Chuck it made it easy to use and really the soft ware is very user friendly  =; ...Every thing is loaded and if you get another sensor all you need to do is turn it on..

With the newer unit you just pull the memory card out and plug it in your lab top and down load your run...

With the one that I have you need to remove the display unit and plug that into your lab top to down load your run...

It was for me and I think everyone here knows how good I am with computers and software [-o<  [-o<  [-o<  =;


Get it Ken......You will open up a whole new world of questions =;  =;

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 1118
Location: Near a blender!
Beretta wrote:
Get it Ken......You will open up a whole new world of questions =;  =;


And places to spend money

_________________
Best 1/4 mile time (dead hook) = 31.32 @ 28mph!!!  (I'm in better shape now!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 1:52 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Maine USA
Ken here is another data logger you may have some interest in, I have talked to Randy McMahon about one,but I have, not bought one yet,they are pretty decent and user friendly.JMHO

http://www.rpmperf.com/


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:54 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 2:36 pm
Posts: 1289
Location: England
Ken, I'd recommend a Pi system, but thats very very expensive, so I guess we are down to computech etc.. I'd recommend the computech as there are at least 3 other users on the forum.  Or unless they guy round the corner has a different make that he likes..

they all have there plus points and also the bad points. with your computer experience you should not have too many problems..

_________________
Sam
ImageImage
http://www.doubledensity.co.uk


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
With the Computech..... Chucks a phone call away =;  We even talked when he was racin \:D/  \:D/

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:47 am
Posts: 885
Location: Australia
hi Ken

have you had a look at the Racepak stuff

its a little on the exxxy side but from what i have found they are a great logger & easy to use

regards
rod

_________________
The older I get the better I was


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:15 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
Obviously my pockets aren't deep enough to afford the expensive stuff.  If I had plenty of money I'd still be in a dragster and running 4.90s.  

I set myself a limit on this and even the modular Computech deal is slightly beyond that, which makes the Innovate setup even more appealing.  I guess some data is better than no data.  

I think what I ultimately want is engine and driveshaft RPM, 8 EGTs, at least one O2, Fuel pressure, G acceleration, voltage and maybe a temp or two.

Dunno, looks like this isn't going to happen until after the first of the year anyway so I've got some time to think about what I want and do some shopping around as well.

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:33 am
Posts: 1293
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Innovate is a "do it yourself" system that you can add sensors as you want.

If you can run wires and solder  I would go with Innovate. It's very powerful and it's no secret their o2 is the best on the market bar none.
Race Pac is outrageously expensive and propertary.

Innovate can use any 0-5v sensor whether it's a GM water temp sensor or a Ford TPS.


Here's some pics of what I did.

Shock sensor construction.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Fuel Pressure

Image

Oil Pressure

Image

Drive shaft

Image

Put everything in an Aluminum Box.
Image


Image


Log
Image
o2 sensor

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
Scott, do you run gas or alky??

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:33 am
Posts: 1293
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
both


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
How long do those 02s last running on gas???

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:33 am
Posts: 1293
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
They last about 40 hours.
I got them down to 38 bucks from CarQuest.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
40 hours of running on a drag car is a lot considering how much actual run time is involved.  I've never run a hobbs meter on one but I'll bet that would take me thru most of a season and since I don't plan to run gas all year, I might be able to get two or three seasons out of one.  Hummm, interesting.

The Wego II I use that belongs to a friend states in their literature that they only go about 15 hours before they go south.  From what I understand though, the Innovate system will compensate for degredation of the sensor and correct the calibration when needed.

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
Scott, are those pressure transducers you have from Innovate or did you find an aftermarket source for them?  If they are aftermarket, what did they come on originally?

Also, what did you use for the Hall effect pickup on the rear end yoke?  Is it aftermarket also and if so, where did you get it and how many magnets did you use.

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron