Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MSD Corrosion?
 Post Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 8:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 9:24 pm
Posts: 5071
Location: Elizabethtown, KY
we were working on Jakes truck today and saw some corrosion at the base of the Dist cap. We had to use a rubber mallet to break the cap looose. O:) once we got the cap loose the everything inside of the dist was covered with blue and white corrosion. It is a pro Billet dist with a 6A box. It was rebuilt last year by MSD. The truck is a daily driver. Has anyone had a problem with this? I emailed MSD today so it will be a couple of days before I hear back. Suggestions?

_________________
Steve

6.7772 @ 101.51 1/8th 10.747 @ 122.24 1/4

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 10:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
That's moisture........Is there a vent in that cap???

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 9:24 pm
Posts: 5071
Location: Elizabethtown, KY
Yes the cap has a vent on top and space where the wire goes through the plate. Do you think maybe I need to plug where the wire comes in?

_________________
Steve

6.7772 @ 101.51 1/8th 10.747 @ 122.24 1/4

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 7:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
Don't know,, Let's see what MSD says....Or maybe someone else knows something here??? :-k

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 7:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 2922
Location: NJ
yes, seal up where the wire comes in. you may also want to use a rotor that has ability to move the air around. also check dist shaft wear as this can allow engine crank case pressure through shaft which can create moisture also.

_________________
ecbrc high point boat overall 2008
ecbrc class champs 2008
chatanooga us champions, oct 14th, 2007.
ecbrc super stock 315 4bbl 2007 champs. high point boat overall 2007.
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 7:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 9:24 pm
Posts: 5071
Location: Elizabethtown, KY
Some guys on an other web site said to drill a hole in the cap to vent the moisture. When we pulled it apart found that the so called breather on top of the cap was pushed all the way down. [-( So we took the breather cap off and pulled the boot for the wires at the bottom of the dist. so moisture can drain. Cleaned it up and will put a new cap on it when it comes in. =; We put it back together se he can go to work tomarrow. Jake said it runs a lot better!! \:D/ \:D/

_________________
Steve

6.7772 @ 101.51 1/8th 10.747 @ 122.24 1/4

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 7:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 9:24 pm
Posts: 5071
Location: Elizabethtown, KY
Tony your post popped up when I submitted the last post. The dist is about 2 years old and was rebuilt last year. I will check with MSD about the rotor. The boot was on the wires before. Thanks.

_________________
Steve

6.7772 @ 101.51 1/8th 10.747 @ 122.24 1/4

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:33 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 3:20 pm
Posts: 1457
Location: Missouri
WR169 wrote:
Some guys on an other web site said to drill a hole in the cap to vent the moisture.


Not having a hole keeps water OUT. Drilling a hole lets water IN.

There is NO reason to have a hole in your distributor cap. Some may have one to align a crank trigger dist, but it is not necessary even for that. If you park the vehicle outside, you definitely don't want a hole as it will allow more condensation to get in as the air heats (expands) then cools (contracts) drawing fresh moist air in only to condense inside the cap/dist.

I have never had a hole in my cap and was using the same cap that came with my MSD dist 10 years later when I sold my Camaro last Summer.

Rick


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 9:24 pm
Posts: 5071
Location: Elizabethtown, KY
I see your point Rick. When I put the new cap on I'll plug all the holes to include the wire hole and see what happens. Thanks steve.

_________________
Steve

6.7772 @ 101.51 1/8th 10.747 @ 122.24 1/4

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron