Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Trans brake
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 1118
Location: Near a blender!
Does a trans brake need a relay? Mine only seems to occasionally want to work. I thought maybe it was a loose wire, but then a buddy thought maybe it needed a lot more juice than I was giving it...or consistent juice.

thanks

_________________
Best 1/4 mile time (dead hook) = 31.32 @ 28mph!!!  (I'm in better shape now!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:55 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 7:28 pm
Posts: 1780
Location: Newport News, VA
Never seen one hooked up with a relay. Might just want to check your connections and make sure they are clean. Also, take an ohmmeter and check your switch and make sure you're getting continuity at every click of the switch. I have seen switches fail like this.

George


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 6:43 am
Posts: 1980
Location: Tell City, IN
Yea What he said. No Relay would cause a delay and make your reaction time go in the toilet.. [-X

_________________
6.11@110 Gas
1.3718 Sixty Foot with the rear wheels Gas

6.07@110 on Alcohol Injection with a 4-link 4-6-12
Best 60' 1.2537 Alcohol Injection 4-29-11
Thru the Mufflers!!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 11:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 7:03 am
Posts: 1444
Its got a Blower ... why do you need a transbrake ?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 6:43 am
Posts: 1980
Location: Tell City, IN
Still help for Drag Racing..My Buddies Dragster You have to use it at the line just to keep it from rolling..it will lope thru the brakes.. O:)

_________________
6.11@110 Gas
1.3718 Sixty Foot with the rear wheels Gas

6.07@110 on Alcohol Injection with a 4-link 4-6-12
Best 60' 1.2537 Alcohol Injection 4-29-11
Thru the Mufflers!!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
MM a lot of those things need a full 12 volts to work properly so if you have your engine idling slow and or an under drive pully for the alternator on the crankshaft then this might "splain" it!

On my setup I have an under drive crank pully and unless the engine RPM is up above 1k sometimes there are problems. At any rate, like the others said, it might be a good idea to check yur electrical connections to make sure they are good.

Oh, and NO relay!

But I do have a question. Are you running a delay box? If so, what brand name is it?

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 1118
Location: Near a blender!
The only delay I have is the space between my ears after a few you know whats!

Ken, I think you hit it on the head. I sit in the garage and it works fine. Go for a spin, flip the auxilary switch, hit the button...nothing.

I've checked and rechecked the silly thing and all is good. So where's the solution?

Duane, have you been talking to my buddies? Actually the trans had a brake on it when I bought it otherwise I wouldn't have one. So now that I want to "play" I can't!!!

Maybe I should rewire with 14ga wire and solder?

_________________
Best 1/4 mile time (dead hook) = 31.32 @ 28mph!!!  (I'm in better shape now!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 9:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 1118
Location: Near a blender!
Maybe I'll pull the 12 directly off the starter.

_________________
Best 1/4 mile time (dead hook) = 31.32 @ 28mph!!!  (I'm in better shape now!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 1:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:55 pm
Posts: 2468
Location: So Cal in the SFV
OK Maybe a really dumb question Are you always trying the transbrake in 1st gear ? Mine only works in 1st and a while back my cable came out of adj just a lil bit and it (the transbrake) did what yours is doing work then not work I guess it depended on how hard i pulled the shifter back. I re adjusted the cable and it has worked fine ever since. If you like I can take it out on the track at Super Chevy and try it it out for ya :-$

_________________
Poverty is owning a race car

   2008 P.S.C.A B1 Champ

2010 WCHRA SPM Champ


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 1:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:55 pm
Posts: 2468
Location: So Cal in the SFV
DCarr wrote:
Its got a Blower ... why do you need a transbrake ?
Why no transbrake with a blower?

_________________
Poverty is owning a race car

   2008 P.S.C.A B1 Champ

2010 WCHRA SPM Champ


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:47 am
Posts: 885
Location: Australia
Margaritaman wrote:
Maybe I should rewire with 14ga wire and solder?


\:D/ \:D/ \:D/

make sure the curly cord is of heavy gauge aswell

regards
rod

_________________
The older I get the better I was


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 1118
Location: Near a blender!
rodrocket wrote:
Margaritaman wrote:
Maybe I should rewire with 14ga wire and solder?


\:D/ \:D/ \:D/

make sure the curly cord is of heavy gauge aswell

regards
rod


Or that ALL of the curly cord wire is completely soldered to the switch on the wheel. In this case four strands wasn't doin' the job. I didn't notice this until I pulled the steering column while working on the interior. It's fixed now and I added a zip tie to take the strain off the switch which was probably the problem originally.

_________________
Best 1/4 mile time (dead hook) = 31.32 @ 28mph!!!  (I'm in better shape now!)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 7:03 am
Posts: 1444
intocarss wrote:
DCarr wrote:
Its got a Blower ... why do you need a transbrake ?
Why no transbrake with a blower?


Because you have all the low end you need to launch from an idle


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Electrical and Electronics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: