Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Fuel Systems




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:23 pm
Posts: 80
The other day i installed a 2 circuit 1050 on my motor i set the idle and noticed tha the adjustment screw wasnt touching the throttle linkage its at 1100rpm where i had my other carb set but i would like to come down a little.The carb is a brand new 8082-1 holley, what might be the problem? i just put it on right out of the box.

_________________
JEFF WINTERS
1986 SS MONTE CARLO
406 SBC
BEST TIME TO DATE 9.99 1/4 MILE @132MPH.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 7:07 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Florida
Checked primary and secondary blades? Also make sure the blades are seating in the bores well and you have no vacuum leaks anywhere. You may have to slightly loosen the blades to get them square on occasion, just make sure they are tight when done if you have to do it. Did it come with any holes in the throttle blades?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:59 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
What Mark said, especially the butterfies squared up in the bores. Don't take those screws all the way out. Just loosen them enough allow the butterflies to find the center of the throttle bore. And loosen both sides too when you do this to make sure that they both square up at the same time.

Quality Control @ Holley has been an issue in recent years. You might want to check the T slots too to make sure you got the right amount of exposure once you get the idle set where you want it.

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 4:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
Your going to have to loosen that allen crew some also that is between them from the bottom of the carb as it also pinches the blades. If not you may not be able to move them...

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:23 pm
Posts: 80
jmarkaudio wrote:
Checked primary and secondary blades? Also make sure the blades are seating in the bores well and you have no vacuum leaks anywhere. You may have to slightly loosen the blades to get them square on occasion, just make sure they are tight when done if you have to do it. Did it come with any holes in the throttle blades?


No holes in blades

_________________
JEFF WINTERS
1986 SS MONTE CARLO
406 SBC
BEST TIME TO DATE 9.99 1/4 MILE @132MPH.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 7:07 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Florida
Barry, his Ultra has no internal linkage, it comes with external linkage.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 11:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:23 pm
Posts: 80
jmarkaudio wrote:
Barry, his Ultra has no internal linkage, it comes with external linkage.


Carb is a hp not ultra,8082-2bk is the ultra,I have 8082-1 which is the hp carb

_________________
JEFF WINTERS
1986 SS MONTE CARLO
406 SBC
BEST TIME TO DATE 9.99 1/4 MILE @132MPH.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 7:07 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Florida
My mistake, I thought you were going with an Ultra carb. The Allen head bolts will need to be loosened to get the plates to move if you need. Also read over the 3 to 2 circuit conversion thread, there are starting calibrations that may help you initially even though yours is already a 2 circuit. And if your up for it, moving the idle feed restriction and installing a transition slot jet shown in those pages are worthwhile modifications.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 3:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:23 pm
Posts: 80
jmarkaudio wrote:
My mistake, I thought you were going with an Ultra carb. The Allen head bolts will need to be loosened to get the plates to move if you need. Also read over the 3 to 2 circuit conversion thread, there are starting calibrations that may help you initially even though yours is already a 2 circuit. And if your up for it, moving the idle feed restriction and installing a transition slot jet shown in those pages are worthwhile modifications.

MARK and everyone else that has commented on this subject thanks for all the info.
Jeff

_________________
JEFF WINTERS
1986 SS MONTE CARLO
406 SBC
BEST TIME TO DATE 9.99 1/4 MILE @132MPH.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Fuel Systems


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron