Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » Engine & Cylinder Head Tech




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 1:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
SX10 got a set of Pro Comp heads from MargaritaMan a few years ago for his B&M Blower engine he's building for his Corvette. Those heads came with some Pro Comp 1.6 rockers that he decided not to use so he ordered a set of Scorpion 1.65 rockers to replace them. He recently was doing a mock up of that deal and noticed that his valve cover wouldn't pass by the push rod side of that rocker arm??

So this morning he called me and I loaned him one of my Moroso tall valve covers off the POS SBC I have on the engine stand to see if it had enough clearance. IT DIDN'T AND HE STILL HAS CONTACT BETWEEN THE PUSH ROD SIDE OF THE ROCKER ARM AND THE VALVE COVER?? Upon further investigation he noticed that the Pro Comp 1.6 rockers showed evidence of contact with the valve covers that MM was running on his engine??

So has anyone else run up on this problem and if so, what did you do to resolve this issue??

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 6:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 9:49 am
Posts: 11
YO! the problem is the procomp heads! I checked in w/kevin and he had seen it before, so they are (in) for a trim job on the milling machine. I aint fraid !

_________________
Image

R&R Cycle, Performance Parts and Service
for Harley Davidson Motorcycles.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:17 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
OK so I was right then. The rocker stud is closer to the valve cover gasket surface or visa versa. Wonder WTF they did that? :-k

Ennywhoot, glad you got that resolved.

So when are you going to swap engines? =;

We got the engine back in the Camaro tonight but still have some stuff to put on it before it will run. Probably fire it up Saturday. Got a crack in a header tube again that I've got to weld up before I install it. It's been welded twice in the same place and now it's cracked again?? Oh well.

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
So you have the intake all hogged out to fit your heads then?

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 10:55 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
Beretta wrote:
So you have the intake all hogged out to fit your heads then?


Somewhat, yes but I did leave some in there for future porting if I choose to go that route. The smallest part of the intake runner is at the head flange though.

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » Engine & Cylinder Head Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron