Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » General Topics




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 9:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 2:14 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Rochester, NY
I'm adding a few channels to my Innovate LM-2 and am looking to wire it once and use some form of shielded wire to help ensure I don't get any interference. I see that McMaster Carr has some shielded wire , but wondered if anyone else has done this, and what you used.

_________________
Mark Slayton
Rochester, NY
Quick Rod 130C
Super Comp 130C


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 11:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
Mark did you check with Greg at Motorsports Innovations? I seem to remember getting some of that stuff from him when I got my DL-32 system?

Local electronics supplier might have it and also DigiKey, who sells some of the sensors I use.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 6:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: N.J.
Mark, I have got some at just about any electronics store. It is some what hard to find 2 wire for some reason but 3 or 4 wire is more common...

_________________
Image
running E85
Best ET 8.07
Best MPH 170.71
Barry


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 2:14 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Rochester, NY
Thanks everyone. I hadn't thought about network cable, but perhaps that's because I've never wired anything with less that 14 gauge wire because I was worried about the run length. I'm going to have to email Greg because the instructions for the coupler speed sensor say to connect one wire to a 12v source and I thought these systems all used a 5v differential. Looks like I'll be learning some new tricks while hooking up these various sensors.

_________________
Mark Slayton
Rochester, NY
Quick Rod 130C
Super Comp 130C


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 9:09 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 6:38 am
Posts: 11804
Location: Coming At Ya!
If you choose to use network cable, make sure you get STRANDED WIRE for long runs as the solid stuff will probably break from all the vibrations on these cars. However I have used some of that solid wire as jumpers to join all the negative terminals on those boxes like the TC-4s.

The only thing in the system that needs larger wire is the heater circuit in an LC-1 and even that doesn't need to be THAT large. If memory serves, I ran 16ga wire for my + and - source to a terminal strip mounted on the bottom of the deflector plate in front of the engine. Also used velcro to mount both the DL-32 and the SSI-4 to that same plate, ie, one on the front side above the fuel pump mount and the other on the back side next to the CO2 bottle. You have to get "creative" on these cars due to limited mounting space and do some "outta da box" thinking.

I've still got two TC-4s to mount and I do believe I'll wind up with those on the radiator fan shroud just behind the engine. That way it's a short wire run to the thermocouples in each exhaust pipe.

_________________
Big Boyz Toyz!

Image

Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves.

William Pitt, British Prime-Minister (1759-1806)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 1:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:59 am
Posts: 438
Location: Auburndale, Florida
Any electronics store will have the wire you need. I used left over microphone wire I got from some audio guy. When I needed additional colors I went to a surplus store here in Orlando. I just bought shielded 20 ga four conductor wire. Stuff was cheap and works great.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 7:07 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Florida
Radio Shack


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Board index » Racing Forum » General Topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron