Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Racing Forum » E85 Fuel Systems

Post Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 3:57 pm 

just got another companies E85 carb in to recalibrate and convert to my specifications after the customer was not happy with product or the service he recieved from the tech.
He contacted the tech Dept several times and they could not tell him how to fix the carb to work on his engine.

im not trying to bash anyones stuff here, just thought I would post up my findings so that we can have a friendly discussion about it and maybe learn something in the process.

I am a small time carb builder who builds E85 ONLY, I did manage to turn around 137 carbs last year working from my home shop, and in the process I have learned alot about E85 and the do's and dont's.
I have put alot of time and effort into learning this fuel and how it works.
and in the process think i have become pretty darn good at these carbs.
track testing, O2 testing, dyno work, and flow bench has either been done by myself or my friend Eric in the quest for finding the correct E85 tune up.

We have found that E85 is not like gasoline or methanol and CANNOT be tuned or calibrated as such, you would think a major carb company would catch on that E85 has en extreemly thick viscosity and must be tuned accordingly.
as you read this understand that E85 DOES NOT like emulsification due to the viscosity of the fuel, and it needs a stronger pull to get the fuel moving and not to have the fuel thinned out to make it happen.
E85 does not flow like gasoline and the fuel does not vaporize until it hits 170* unlike the high end vapors of gasoline or the 130* for methanol.

Here are the specs I pulled from this 850 cfm carb:

PMJ - 95 (.116)
SMJ - 102 (126)(no jet extensions)
floats - standard nytrophyl
Power valve - 6.5 (standard flow)
PVCR - .116 (not understanding this with the above PV)
IFR - .042 (pretty normal for Street E85 carb)
IAB - .070
HSAB - .033
TSR - .120